Awards & Recognition

The Traveling Straw Dawg Award is given “In recognition of services above and beyond the call of duty in furthering straw building in California. ”

The Big Heart Award is given  "for excellence in developing the feeling of ecological building."

We salute all our winners, including the many from years past that we do not have pictured here.

Traveling Straw Dawg Award


Claudia (CJ) Cavet

2013 recipient David Arkin presents the 2014 award winner CJ Cavet. CJ has coordinated many workshops over the years and was also spearheaded a major website overhaul. View the video!


Anni Tilt and David Arkin

Fine Homebuilding's 2012 award for best new home was won by Arkin Tilt Architects


Jim Reiland and Joy Rogalla

Jim and Joy built their own straw bale home and have been enthusiastic supporters of many, many aspects of CASBA, including the forthcoming Detail Book.


Darcey Donovan

Darcey Donovan marking cracks during one of the Pakistan Straw Bale and Appropriate Building (PAKSBAB) seismic research project wall tests at the University of Reno, Nevada. See the July 2011 issue of the CASBA Journal for an article on Darcey and her work with PAKSBAB.


Athena and Bill Steen

Athena and Bill Steen (left) receive the 2009 Traveling Straw Dawg Award from last year’s recipients Turko Semmes and Greg McMillan (right).


Greg McMillan and Turko Semmes

Greg McMillan and Turko Semmes with the TSDA, Cambria California, March, 2008

Big Heart Award


Martin Hammer

Martin has been an instrumental player in getting strawbale building into the international building code (IBC).

View the video of Ray Sheehy's presentation and Martin's acceptance speech.


Ray Sheehy

Advisory Board member Ray Sheehy was recognized for his generous spirit.

CASBA, a Project of the Tides Center.

Privacy Policy | Website Terms & Conditions

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software